It’s our policy to admit and enroll eligible undocumented immigrants. Please call 281-998-6150 to find out more about eligibility. If you are eligible to enroll, here are the steps you must take.

The application process if very simple, and you can do it all right here online.

Apply Now

We will need official transcripts or notarized copies from your high school, as well as any colleges or universities you have attended – either in the U.S. or abroad. We also need proof that you have had these transcripts evaluated by an accepted evaluation company from this list.

Accepted Evaluation Companies

Since classes at San Jacinto College are taught in English, proficiency is required for students whose native language is not English.  Test scores allow us to accurately advise students into classes that will offer the best opportunity for success.  Depending on your scores, you may be admitted to our academic programs or required to enter our English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) program to continue building your English skills.

You may be admitted in the ESOL Program with a minimum score of:


450 (Paper-Based Test)

  45 (Internet-Based Test)

Accuplacer ESL

60 (Reading); 2 (Write Placer); 53 (Sentence Meaning); 53 (Language Meaning); 53 (Listening)


Band 4 range

Note: If you score below these levels, you can improve your English through the non-credit ESL program, which is taught through our Continuing & Professional Development (CPD) division. However, F1 students are not eligible to enroll in CPD to maintain their F1 Visa Status.

You may be admitted to an Academic Program with a minimum score of: 


525 (Paper-Based test) *subject to change

70 (Internet-Based test) * subject to change


Band 6 range *subject to change


Native students from the following countries are exempt from proving English proficiency:

Australia, The Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, English speaking Canadian provinces, Cayman Islands, Fiji Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Malta, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tobago Trinidad, United Kingdom, Virgin islands, West Indies, Zambia, and Zimbabwe